Remove SQL block comments via regex

My blog is a bit quiet sometimes, and this is because I usually want to post big projects.
However I think I should also post small code snippets as they may help somebody too.
Trevor just asked about how to detect SQL block statements via regex, and I remember I had to use such a regex in order to trim a massive SQL query into 8000 chars for a classic SCCM report.
Use this Perl regex to detect SQL block comments
/\*([^*]|[\r\n]|(\*+([^*/]|[\r\n])))*\*+/

This will not detect comments denoted by -- which you should not use anyway :)

My next bigger project is to show WMI Event Consumer driven scripts, run scripts on resume and on PC idle btw.

One thought on “Remove SQL block comments via regex

Leave a Reply

